Board logo

Celebrating student and community leaders

For immediate release

May 8, 2018 (Brantford) – Trustees of the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board wish to thank His Excellency Bishop Gerard Paul Bergie, Bishop of the Diocese of St. Catharines, Norfolk County Mayor Charlie Luke, M.P.P. Toby Barrett, and supportive priests, parents, and staff who were in attendance at the 2018 Catholic Leadership Awards Ceremony at St. John’s College. The event, held during Catholic Education Week, acknowledges amazing student leaders, one selected from each school of the Board, to receive the prestigious student award.

“These award recipients are true role models who lead virtuous lives every day. Catholic Education Week affords us the perfect time to pay tribute to the student leaders in our schools and reflect on the importance of faith in our lives and the role it plays in Catholic education,” said Chair of the Board, Rick Petrella.

In bringing closing remarks to the event, Director of Education, Chris N. Roehrig said, “When I review the accomplishments of our students, I cannot help but be grateful for their leadership – not only their leadership among their peers – but their leadership for us. This is a particular credit to the parents among us today. Your guidance of our young people is inspiring to educators who share in the responsibility to form our young people in their faith.”





Blessed Sacrament, Burford

Breanne Smith

St. Patrick, Brantford

Arianna Bortolotto

Christ the King, Brantford

Emma Forget

St. Patrick’s, Caledonia

Christopher Cresencia

Holy Cross, Brantford

Pedro Delgado Ayala

St. Peter, Brantford

Ania Ciepielewski

Holy Family, Paris

Camryn Becks

St. Pius X, Brantford

Jaden Chagnon

Jean Vanier, Brantford

Jaina Pandohie

St. Stephen’s, Cayuga

Joyce Fox

Notre Dame, Brantford

Liam Arthofer

St. Theresa, Brantford

Chloe Svec

Sacred Heart, Paris

Mia DiFelice

Holy Trinity Catholic High, Simcoe

Matthew Kiernan

St. Basil, Brantford

Lainie Spencer

St. John’s College, Brantford

Alexandra Rodriguez

St. Bernard of Clairvaux, Waterford

Lauren Klunder

Notre Dame, Caledonia

Hannah Latimer

St. Cecilia’s, Port Dover

Amelia Carr

Our Lady of Fatima, Courtland

Joshua King

St. Frances Cabrini, Delhi

Emma Rose

Our Lady of Providence, Brantford

Sabrina Gulas

St. Gabriel, Brantford

Lucas Mamela

Resurrection, Brantford

Jessica Spangenberger

St. Joseph’s, Simcoe

Sylvia King

Sacred Heart, Langton

Kevin Boyd

St. Mary’s, Hagersville

Kaeleigh Walsh

St. Leo, Brantford

Heather Stanley

St. Michael’s, Dunnville

Devon Dulmage

Assumption College School, Brantford

Evelina Rowley

St. Michael’s, Walsh

Chloe Brownlee



To add to the evening, Trustees of the Board presented awards that highlight the importance of continued Catholic leadership beyond school.

The Distinguished Catholic Graduate Award was presented to Diana Dumlavwalla. This award is presented to a graduate from the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board who has provided an outstanding example of the Ontario Catholic School Graduate Expectations in action.  

The Outstanding Contribution to Catholic Education Award was presented to June Szeman (posthumously) and Walter VanLaeken. This award is presented to a person in the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board who has made a significant contribution to Catholic Education, serving the students, staff and greater community.


Photo Cutline: Bishop Bergie, Trustees, 2018 Catholic Student Leaders, Acting Mayor Councillor John Utley, BHNCDSB Director of Education Chris N. Roehrig, Parish Priests and award recipients Walter VanLaeken and Diana Dumlavwalla gather for a pre-ceremony photo to celebrate the evening.

Diana  Szeman Family  VanLaeken

Photo cutline: Diana Dumlavwalla, the Szeman Family and Walter VanLaeken receive their awards.


For more information about the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board contact:
Tracey Austin | Manager of Communications and Community Relations, Privacy Officer | 519-756-6505 Ext. 234 (office) | 519-732-5282 (call or text) |