Board logo

Chair Petrella begins eighth consecutive term as Chair of Catholic School Board

December 7, 2021 (Brant, Haldimand Norfolk) – At the 2021 Annual meeting, the Trustees of the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board (BHNCDSB) acclaimed Rick Petrella, as Chair of the Board and Carol Luciani as Vice-Chair.

This will be the eighth consecutive year that Rick Petrella has been selected as Chair. As such, Chair Petrella brings a wealth of experience to the position having held numerous roles on committees including Audit, Budget and Strategic Planning. Chair Petrella is excited to continue to offer his leadership to help ensure a continued focus on student learning and well being, while ensuring the Board remains fiscally responsible and transparent. “I am humbled and incredibly honoured to, again, be acclaimed Chair of the Board,” said Rick Petrella.

“I am immensely proud of the perseverance shown by all members of our community, as we navigated through another challenging year. Thank you for your resilience and trust and I am so grateful that, despite dealing with a second year of pandemic, we were able to continue to offer quality Catholic education. I am confident that your patience through these times will be rewarded, and I look forward to great things occurring in our board in 2022.”

Vice-Chair Carol Luciani holds the role for a third consecutive term and is looking forward to her continued advocacy on behalf of her constituents for ensuring that inclusivity and equity in the classroom, remains a priority for the district. She continues to demonstrate her commitment to Catholic education and dedication to the Board which she joined in 1988.

Once again, the format of the Annual General Meeting had to be modified to adhere to local public health guidelines, only Trustees and essential staff participated in the open forum meeting which followed an Advent Liturgy.

Read Chair Petrella’s full address to the Trustees and District

Note: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and to ensure the health and safety of all, this year’s Annual Meeting submitted photos are official images rather than event images.
Photo cutline (left to right): Chair of the Board, Rick Petrella; Vice-chair of the Board, Carol Luciani